Megacon (Friday, Saturday, Sunday)

The biggest convention in Florida was this past weekend, (March 21 – 23) and I am tired.

While I had fun, this years show was a cluster fuck, mostly due to Megacon having a smaller location.

Seriously Megacon, you have been running this event for years, acting as an example, how could you downsize your size so severely?

It was hell trying to walk around the convention, with so much shoulder to shoulder traffic, I was wondering what would have happened if a fire marshal had passed by.

The line control at Megacon as a whole was horribly mismanaged.

There was a line to enter the convention center to get to the pre-registered / register line, but once you got inside, there was no control, causing people to skip around.

The line for the costume contest went around the entire second floor walkway, but once the doors opened, it was simple for people to skip or enter through the other doors.

Line control for the David Morrissey, Walking Dead panel was non-existent.

One of your biggest guests from one of the most popular shows on TV, and that was mismanaged?

I get that you need to do that for Stan Lee, but the same is needed for all of your other guests.

Now, I can understand that the Orange County Convention Center has multiple events going on during the weekend, but you should be aware of this, as it could affect the size of Megacon.

Even if the hosting location had only a small size available, why did you not try to reserve the location ahead of time? Megacon has been growing since 1993 and has been at the Orange County Convention Center since 2001.

The security this year was very lax.

I bought a weekend pass a year in advance, but not a single member of the security staff asked to see it.

Keep in mind, my pass was well hidden in my costume and I entered and exited the convention center multiple times.

As for this years Game room, I was told that this was mismanaged.

While I’m not the biggest card gamer, but, my friend was complaining about it at our hotel.

His major gripes were that the tournaments were organized very amatur, and the judges / staff had no clue on the rulings on some of the games.

The biggest issue, however, was the other attendees/cosplayers.

Florida is home to the worst cosplayers, and I’m not talking about the costume.

Florida cosplayers are the most elitist, self righteous, assholes, and Megacon is where they conviene.

The thing that struck a cord the most with me was the hate towards the Homestuck fandom.

Now I am not a fan of the series, I will admit that the hatread has grown to metaphorical racist levels.

My defense to them is this: leave them alone, it’s their fandom. You are at a event of a mass magnitiude to express your fandom and likes with no prejudice . To insult them, or to wish for them to die in a fire is hypocritical. Your fandom might not be liked by others, but how many of them are bashing them with the hate that many are giving these Homestuckers? I would like to point out that many of them are kids. Do you really want to expose them to this level of hate?

Best Megacon Rumors:

-People had to pay to host a panel (I would like to get confirmation on this).

UPDATE: Apparently, people who signed up to host a panel, had to still purchase a ticket at regular price.

-People supposedly decided not to go after being stuck in traffic.

UPDATE: Confirmed.

-Mythical free parking spots at restaurants

~The Blogger~

 

4 thoughts on “Megacon (Friday, Saturday, Sunday)

  1. I was a vendor at Megacon, on Saturday, the show had to be closed off early and those with tickets were denied access and refunded due to the Fire Marshals closing the event. Those inside could stay, but no new tickets were sold or allowed entry. It took us 2 hours after the event that day to leave the parking lot to i-drive, a mere half-mile journey.

Leave a comment