Khaotic Kon (Friday, Saturday, Sunday)

Khaotic Kon (April 11-13) made me realize something.

I am an adult.

I was walking around the con, and realised that I was surrounded by 21 year olds and younger.

While it came as a shock to me, being in my late 20’s, I realised who these smaller cons are for. And it’s not necessarily a bad thing, I am having a realization that age may be a factor in the attendees and type of venue. Despite my age, I had a great time.

Now back to the review.

I remember going to the first one in 2012, and I felt that this was a con that in time, would grow into something bigger.

2014, was not the case though.

While I had fun, the con felt the same as it started two years ago (with the exception being that it was at a different location).

The size has hardly changed, and the attendance felt like a first year con, which is a shame, as this is a fun event, but if the owners pushed a harder ad game, they may have had a better turn out.

Panel-wise: There seemed to be an abundance of Homestuck panels, which is not for me, but its popular, so I’m not surprised.

The Gaming Room was well organized, and the staff knew their stuff.

The musical was very gimmicky, but the event that blew me away, was the After Hours Affairs. this 18+ show was really funny, and put together so well, that I had assumed that it was done by an acting troupe, but, was surprised to learn that it was put together by the convention staff.

Speaking of the con staff: I have nothing but praise for their customer service. I have seen a lot of crappy service at other events, but everyone here was attentive and helpful to a high degree. I witnessed a staffer lend a cell phone charger to an attendee to call her mother, and another run out and by a soda for another that was not feeling well.

A lot of the other cons can learn a thing or two from them.

Over all, I had more fun here then at this years Megacon, somehow, but the con needs to grow, and the best way to do that is to advertise the hell out of it.

~The Blogger~

Leave a comment